CHAPTER - 12

Union Territories

Union Territories

- Articles 239 to 241 in Part VIII of the Constitution deal with the union territories. Even though all the union territories belong to one category, there is no uniformity in their administrative system.
- Every union territory is administered by the president acting through an administrator appointed by him. An administrator of a union territory is an agent of the president & not head of state like a governor.
- The president can specify the designation of an administrator; it is Lieutenant Governor in the case of Delhi, Puducherry & Andaman & Nicobar Islands & Administrator in the case of Chandigarh,

Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu & Lakshadweep.

The Parliament can make laws on any subject of the three lists (including the State List) for the union territories. This power of Parliament also extends to Puducherry & Delhi, which have their own local legislatures but the legislative assembly of both (Delhi & Puducherry) can also make laws on any subject of the State List & Concurrent List. This means that the legislative power of Parliament for the union territories on subjects of the State List remain unaffected even after establishing a local legislature for them.